Panayiotis A. KOKORAS (Greece)

Panayiotis A. KOKORAS

Panayiotis Kokoras (Greece, 1974) studied composition with I.Ioannidi, K. Varotsi and classical guitar with E. Asimakopoulo in Athens, Greece. In 1999 he moved to England, for postgraduate studies where he completed his MA and PhD in composition with T. Myatt at the University of York with funds from Arts and Humanities Research Board (AHRB) and Aleksandra Trianti Music Scholarships (Society Friends of Music) among others.
His works have been commissioned by institutes and festivals such as FROMM (Harvard University) IRCAM, MATA (Music At The Anthology), Spring Festival (The University of York), Gaudeamus (Netherlands), and regularly performed in international festivals and concert series throughout Europe, Asia and America. His compositions have received 27 distinctions and prizes in international competitions among others Pierre Schaeffer 2005 – Italy, Musica Viva 2005 and 2002 – Portugal, Look and Listen Prize 2004 – New York, Gaudeamus 2004 and 2003 – The Netherlands, Bourges Residence Prix 2004 – France, Insulae Electronicae 2003 – Italy, Jurgenson Competition 2003 – Russia, Seoul international competition 2003 – Korea, Takemitsu Composition Award 2002 – Japan, Noroit Prize 2002 – France, CIMESP 2002 – Brazil, Musica Nova 2001 – Check Republic, Métamorphoses 2000 – Belgium.
He is concerned to see how he, the listener, maps the acoustic signal into a structural representation on a psychoacoustic basis of the perception of music. His compositions include significant influences of the electroacoustic studio upon acoustic instrumental compositions and vice versa. Panayiotis Kokoras’ creative output ranges from acoustic works to mixed media, improvisation and tape one.
He is founding member of the Hellenic Electroacoustic Music Composers Association (HELMCA) where he is member of the board. He taught at the Technological and Educational Institute of Crete – Department of Music Technology and Acoustics. Since October 2005 he has been lecturing at the Aristotle University of Thessaloniki – Department of Music Studies, Greece. His music is published by Spectrum Press, NOR, Miso Musica, SAN / CEC, Independent Opposition Records, ICMC2004 and distributed in limited editions by LOSS, Host Artists Group, Musica Nova, and others.

Panayiotis A. KOKORAS participates in

  • SoundLAB
  • – Memoryscapes