Hsiao-Lan Wang (Taiwan)

Hsiao-Lan Wang


Hsiao-Lan Wang, a native of Taiwan, composes extensively for
orchestra, chamber ensembles, solo instruments, and electronic media.
Her music investigates the fundamental elements of musical
communication through new timbral, formal, and technological
relationships. Notable recognition from various national and
international awards includes Pauline Oliveros Prize and Libby Larsen
Prize from International Alliance for Women in Music, Athena Festival
Chamber Music Composition Competition, American Composers Forum,
Pierre Schaeffer Computer Music Competition (Italy), Craig and Janet
Swan Composer Prize for Orchestra, Composers Competition by Chamber
Orchestra of Denton, Awards from ASCAP (American Society of Composers,
Authors, and Publishers), Logos Foundation (Belgium), Bourges Electro
Acoustic Music Festival (France), and Dutch National Radio. Ms. Wang
is also a frequent participant at music festivals throughout North

In addition to her career as a composer, Ms. Wang extends her musical
platform to conducting of orchestral, choral, and contemporary chamber
music. Given her special interest in contemporary music, she has
continuously conducted works by both developing and established
composers of our time, including numerous world premieres. She has
served as the associate conductor of the Nova Ensemble at University
of North Texas and the Flower Mound Community Orchestras.

Ms. Wang received her BA in Music Composition and Theory from the
National Institute of the Arts (Taipei, Taiwan) in 1999 and MM in
composition from the University of Missouri-Kansas City in 2002. She
is presently a DMA candidate in composition at the University of North
Texas while teaching music technology and composition courses at
Montana State University in Bozeman, Montana. Advocacy for women’s
music has been an area where she devotes much of her energy in recent
years. She currently serves as the president of International Alliance
for Women in Music.