Efthymios Chatzigiannis (GR)

Efthymios Chatzigiannis
Participant in
SoundLAB VI – sonic art project environments
soundPOOL – a challenge for imagination

Efthymios Chatzigiannis is a composer/sound artist born in Ioannina, Greece. He completed a BA degree in music at the Anglia Ruskin University, Cambridge, and an MA in Composition and Sonic Art at Oxford Brookes University. Currently he is undertaking a PhD study at Oxford Brookes entitled “Natural Signal Processing: A study on natural sonic filters”, researching the processes sound undergoes until it reaches our ears, and their impact on our perception of the sound. Efthymios has produced several electronic and acoustic works, as well as sound installations. He is also involved in Nonstop Tango, an improvising rock band and TRATC, an improvisation ensemble involving live electronics, instruments and voice. Some of his earlier works include: “Ydor”, for violin, viola, cello and double-bass, performed at the Oxford Brookes University in January 2007 and a cover version of the Door’s classic “People are Strange”, performed at the Anglia Ruskin University in June 2005. Some of his other works are “Sogno”, for large ensemble and “Wind Quintet No. 1”, but are yet to be performed. Efhtymios has also produced several sound installations some of which are “Sonic Spirits”, exhibited at the Jam Factory, Oxford in April 2007 and “External Shaping Factors”, exhibited at Oxford Brookes University in September 2007.